

BOARD OF TRUSTEES// Susan Carroll-Boser Chair Jon Cardi Vice Chair Renee Shumate Vice Chair Sherrice Thomas Secretary Timothy T. Miller Treasurer Amy Dawson Past Chair

Shannon Isom President & CEO

Kristina Arcara Trudy Bartley Barbara H. Benham Sonya Higginbotham Erik Janas Andy Keller Alison Marker Kittrella Mikell Sheila Prillerman Stephen M. Smith Michael Stevens Jonathan D. Welty Nathan P. Wymer

FOUNDING SPONSORS// City of Columbus Columbus Chamber The Columbus Foundation Franklin County Board of Commissioners Metropolitan Area Church Council United Way of Central Ohio FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 2, 2023 For more information, contact: Sara Loken <u>scloken@csb.org</u> 614-370-1530

HOMEFULL HONORED WITH COMMUNITY SHELTER BOARD'S 2023 NANCY JEFFREY ADVOCATE AWARD

(Columbus, OH) – Community Shelter Board honored Homefull with its 2023 Nancy Jeffrey Advocate Award in recognition of their significant impact toward ending chronic homelessness through permanent supportive housing.

An awards ceremony was held today at Columbus State Community College, attended by more than 250 people, where a series of Community Shelter Board's Founder Awards were presented.

Homefull delivers rapid re-housing and permanent supportive housing in CSB's network. With programs in Dayton and Columbus, Homefull takes a comprehensive approach to addressing poverty and works to end homelessness by providing housing, services, advocacy, and education. They oversee the largest portfolio of permanent supportive housing in CSB's network – more than 1,100 units. A majority of the units in Homefull's portfolio are scattered site units, providing the highest flexibility to formerly homeless individuals and families to live independently in the community. Homefull's work centers around offering housing, food and jobs to the most vulnerable in our community.

Community Shelter Board honors exemplary work among partner agencies with its Nancy Jeffrey Advocate Award. This annual award honors Nancy Jeffrey's tireless activism on behalf of vulnerable people in our community. This award recognizes the efforts of professionals working directly with and for people facing homelessness.

community shelter board 355 e campus view blvd, suite 250 columbus ohio 43235

> 614 221 9195 / main 614 221 9199 / fax www.csb.org



VIDEO: https://youtu.be/gBI-GI2V_UI





The Honorable Kevin Boyce of the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, Shannon Isom of Community Shelter Board, Tina Patterson of Homefull, and Anne Jeffrey Wright

Tina Patterson and the team from Homefull

Community Shelter Board (CSB) leads a coordinated, community effort to make sure everyone has a place to call home in Columbus and Franklin County, Ohio. CSB was founded in 1986 on the vision that no one should be homeless in our community, for even one night. As the system leader for the prevention of and response to homelessness in Central Ohio, CSB funds and coordinates care across 17 partner agencies providing outreach, homelessness prevention, emergency shelter, and housing programs to help low-income families and single adults facing homelessness in Franklin County regain housing stability. Over the past 10 years alone, CSB's system of care has housed more than 35,000 people.

Community Shelter Board is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the City of Columbus, the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, the State of Ohio, United Way of Central Ohio, Nationwide Foundation, American Electric Power Foundation, The Columbus Foundation, and many other public and private investors.