

Until everyone has a place to call home

BOARD OF TRUSTEES// Susan Carroll-Boser Chair Jon Cardi Vice Chair Renee Shumate Vice Chair Sherrice Thomas Secretary Timothy T. Miller Treasurer Amy Dawson Past Chair

Shannon Isom President & CEO

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 2, 2023

For more information, contact: Sara Loken scloken@csb.org 614-370-1530

AMERICAN ELECTRIC POWER FOUNDATION HONORED WITH **COMMUNITY SHELTER BOARD'S** 2023 MEL SCHOTTENSTEIN LEADERSHIP AWARD

Kristina Arcara Trudy Bartley Barbara H. Benham Sonya Higginbotham Erik Janas Andy Keller Alison Marker Kittrella Mikell Sheila Prillerman Stephen M. Smith Michael Stevens Jonathan D. Welty Nathan P. Wymer

(Columbus, OH) - Community Shelter Board honored American Electric Power Foundation with its 2023 Mel Schottenstein Leadership Award in recognition of their longstanding commitment to basic needs in the Columbus community.

An awards ceremony was held today at Columbus State Community College, attended by more than 250 people, where a series of Community Shelter Board's Founder Awards were presented.

AEP Foundation's giving to CSB began in 1995 and their commitment has grown significantly, making them one of CSB's largest private-sector investors and partners. Most recently, AEP Foundation provided additional support for CSB's Homelessness Prevention Network to ensure housing stability for vulnerable families in Columbus and Franklin County. AEP also has a longstanding history of supporting CSB at the board level with strong executive leaders serving as board members since 2007.

CSB also applaud AEP Foundation's commitment to social and racial justice, marked by their investment in programs dedicated to advancing social and racial justice. Their significant investment in the Center for Racial Equity at YWCA Columbus supports educational resources to combat racism, which are relevant and important resources for all providers across Community Shelter Board's system of care.

Community Shelter Board honors change makers with its Mel Schottenstein Leadership Award. This annual award honors Melvin Schottenstein's legacy to homeless persons in the Columbus community. This honor is for leaders who have done something quite remarkable to make a significant difference in the lives of people experiencing homelessness. The award honors deep and far-reaching commitment, caring, leadership, and vision in the battle against homelessness.

FOUNDING SPONSORS// City of Columbus Columbus Chamber The Columbus Foundation

Franklin County Board of Commissioners

Metropolitan Area Church Council United Way of Central Ohio

community shelter board 355 e campus view blvd, suite 250

> 614 221 9195 / main 614 221 9199 / fax www.csb.org

columbus ohio 43235



VIDEO: https://youtu.be/TADEg_bKK74



Renee Shumate of American Electric Power



Gretchen Brandt of American Electric Power Foundation

Community Shelter Board (CSB) leads a coordinated, community effort to make sure everyone has a place to call home in Columbus and Franklin County, Ohio. CSB was founded in 1986 on the vision that no one should be homeless in our community, for even one night. As the system leader for the prevention of and response to homelessness in Central Ohio, CSB funds and coordinates care across 17 partner agencies providing outreach, homelessness prevention, emergency shelter, and housing programs to help low-income families and single adults facing homelessness in Franklin County regain housing stability. Over the past 10 years alone, CSB's system of care has housed more than 35,000 people.

Community Shelter Board is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the City of Columbus, the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, the State of Ohio, United Way of Central Ohio, Nationwide Foundation, American Electric Power Foundation, The Columbus Foundation, and many other public and private investors.