

BOARD OF TRUSTEES//
Susan Carroll-Boser Chair
Jon Cardi Vice Chair
Renee Shumate Vice Chair
Sherrice Sledge-Thomas Secretary
Kittrella Mikell Treasurer
Amy Dawson Past Chair

Shannon TL Isom President & CEO

Kristina Arcara
Trudy Bartley
Barbara H. Benham
Joy Bivens
Sonya Higginbotham
Andy Keller
Alison Marker
Sheila Prillerman
Stephen M. Smith
Michael Stevens
Jonathan D. Welty
Nathan P. Wymer

FOUNDING SPONSORS//
City of Columbus
Columbus Chamber
The Columbus Foundation
Franklin County Board
of Commissioners
Metropolitan Area Church Council
United Way of Central Ohio

community shelter board 355 e campus view blvd, suite 250 columbus ohio 43235

> 614 221 9195 / main 614 221 9199 / fax www.csb.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 21, 2023

For more information, contact: Sara Loken scloken@csb.org 614-370-1530

Community Shelter Board Receives Historic Endowment Gift from the Tad & Nancy Jeffrey Fund

(Columbus, OH) – Community Shelter Board (CSB) is proud to announce a transformative and historic endowment gift of \$850,000 from the Tad & Nancy Jeffrey Fund of The Columbus Foundation. This substantial contribution marks the largest endowment gift ever received by CSB.

Tad and Nancy's children – Anne Jeffrey Wright, Sally Jeffrey O'Neil, Betsy Jeffrey Balderston, and Andy Jeffrey – made the decision to establish this endowment as a testament to their parents' longstanding commitment to the Columbus community. The endowment, the first of its kind for CSB, will ensure sustained support in perpetuity, providing vital resources to address homelessness and uplift vulnerable individuals in the community.

On behalf of her siblings, Anne Jeffrey Wright underscored, "We knew that Mom's and Dad's interest was to support CSB's mission over the long-term. It has been an honor to be their representatives and play a role in fostering positive change for those experiencing homelessness."

"The legacy of Nancy and Tad Jeffrey has been a guiding light for our community. Their steadfast commitment to addressing homelessness has inspired trust and confidence in the leadership of Community Shelter Board," said Shannon TL Isom, CSB President and CEO. "This historic endowment gift ensures that CSB will continue its vital work decades from now, making a lasting impact on the lives of those in need."

Nancy Jeffrey played an important role in the creation of the Community Shelter Board in 1986. Along with community leaders Mel Schottenstein and Bob Lazarus, the trio established CSB, which has served as a powerful and timely response to a serious community condition.

ABOUT COMMUNITY SHELTER BOARD

Community Shelter Board (CSB) leads a coordinated, community effort to make sure everyone has a place to call home in Columbus and Franklin County, Ohio. As the system leader for the prevention and response to homelessness in central Ohio, CSB collaborates with service provider organizations in Franklin County, creating a responsive network to ensure an effective and readied use of community resources for people experiencing homelessness. Over the past 10 years, CSB's system of care has housed more than 35,000 men, women, and children facing homelessness.

Community Shelter Board is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the City of Columbus, the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, the State of Ohio, United Way of Central Ohio, Nationwide Foundation, American Electric Power Foundation, The Columbus Foundation, Battelle, and many other public and private investors.