

BOARD OF TRUSTEES// Susan Carroll-Boser Chair Jon Cardi Vice Chair Renee Shumate Vice Chair Sherrice Thomas Secretary Timothy T. Miller Treasurer Amy Dawson Past Chair

Michelle Heritage Executive Director

Barbara H. Benham Joseph Hayek Erik Janas Andy Keller Sheila Prillerman Stephen M. Smith Élise Spriggs Michael Stevens Jonathan D. Welty Nathan P. Wymer

FOUNDING SPONSORS// City of Columbus Columbus Chamber The Columbus Foundation Franklin County Board of Commissioners Metropolitan Area Church Council United Way of Central Ohio

community shelter board 355 e campus view blvd, suite 250 columbus ohio 43235

> 614 221 9195 / main 614 221 9199 / fax www.csb.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 10, 2022 For more information, contact: Sara Loken <u>scloken@csb.org</u> 614-370-1530

## COLUMBUS CITY COUNCIL PRESIDENT SHANNON HARDIN HONORED WITH COMMUNITY SHELTER BOARD'S 2022 MEL SCHOTTENSTEIN AWARD

(Columbus, OH) – Community Shelter Board honored Columbus City Council President Shannon Hardin with its 2022 Mel Schottenstein Leadership Award. Council President Hardin has demonstrated unwavering, enthusiastic support for solutions to homelessness since being appointed to Council in 2014.

Council President Hardin championed \$4.9M in seed funding to help CSB place crisis prevention and de-escalation specialists in every shelter and supportive housing location, in response to a dramatic increase in crisis situations. The COVID-19 pandemic accelerated already underlying challenges with mental health crises, suicide attempts, and drug overdoses among people facing homelessness.

The pandemic has also been hard on staff working in homeless shelters. Council President Hardin championed increased resources of more than \$6M for these first responders to get them to a living wage and better retain these essential workers.

A breakfast reception was held today at the Boathouse at Confluence Park, where a series of Community Shelter Board's Founder Awards were presented by NBC4.

Community Shelter Board honors change makers with its Mel Schottenstein Leadership Award. This annual award honors Melvin Schottenstein's legacy of remarkable leadership to make a significant difference in the lives of people experiencing homelessness. The award honors deep and far-reaching commitment, caring, leadership, and vision in the battle against homelessness.



VIDEO: https://youtu.be/RKObs-UFTYo





Columbus City Council President Shannon Hardin, Michelle Heritage of Community Shelter Board, and Columbus City Council Member Shayla Favor

Lenore Schottenstein, Columbus City Council President Shannon Hardin, and Holly Schottenstein Kastan

Community Shelter Board leads a coordinated, community effort to make sure everyone has a place to call home. CSB is the collective impact organization driving strategy, accountability, collaboration, and resources to achieve the best outcomes for people facing homelessness in Columbus and Franklin County. With the support of a compassionate community, our system of care served 15,000 people last year with homelessness prevention, shelter, street outreach, rapid re-housing, and permanent supportive housing.

Community Shelter Board is funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the City of Columbus, the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, the State of Ohio, United Way of Central Ohio, Nationwide Foundation, American Electric Power Foundation, The Columbus Foundation, and many other public and private investors.