

BOARD OF TRUSTEES//
Barbara H. Benham Chair
Amy Dawson Vice Chair
Patrick F. Jarvis Vice Chair
Jon Cardi Secretary
Timothy T. Miller Treasurer

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 19, 2020

For more information, contact: Sara Loken scloken@csb.org 614-370-1530

Michelle Heritage Executive Director

FRANKLIN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HONORED WITH COMMUNITY SHELTER BOARD'S 2020 MEL SCHOTTENSTEIN LEADERSHIP AWARD

Darnita M. Bradley
Susan Carroll-Boser
Shannon Ginther
Joseph Hayek
Erik Janas
Chad A. Jester
Andy Keller
Timothy King
lan Labitue
Dawn Tyler Lee
Teresa L. McWain
Sheila Prillerman
Stephen M. Smith
Paul M. Stachura
Jonathan D. Welty

(Columbus, OH) – The Franklin County Board of Commissioners was recognized with the 2020 Mel Schottenstein Leadership Award. Given by Community Shelter Board, the award honors deep and far-reaching commitment to people facing homelessness, in memory of Melvin Schottenstein's legacy as a founder of Community Shelter Board.

Commissioners Marilyn Brown, Kevin Boyce, and John O'Grady announced the Rise Together Poverty Blueprint in 2019, a five-year, \$13M plan to help lift people out of poverty. The plan includes multiple initiatives, like programs to expand affordable housing, transportation and employment opportunities, and the creation of an Innovation Center to test the feasibility of anti-poverty strategies.

FOUNDING SPONSORS//
City of Columbus
Columbus Chamber
The Columbus Foundation
Franklin County Board
of Commissioners
Metropolitan Area Church Council
United Way of Central Ohio

Because of the Commissioners' strong commitment to housing as a basic human need, they increased the real estate conveyance fee in the county in 2019 to garner more support for affordable housing, and they also committed additional investments in homelessness prevention efforts by Community Shelter Board.

Especially inspiring is the Commissioners' commitment to anti-racist work, including race equity training for leaders across Franklin County. A new race-equity council will work to promote a more uniform understanding of how racial inequality and implicit bias damage minority communities with higher rates of unemployment, incarceration, and poverty.

"Franklin County has a rapidly growing population," said Michelle Heritage, executive director for Community Shelter Board. "Our Franklin County Commissioners know that it's more important than ever to have a community that responds in kind by expanding quality of life services for every resident. They are in lock-step efforts with us to make sure everyone in Franklin County has a place to call home."

The Franklin County Board of Commissioners is one of the founding members that helped create the Community Shelter Board model in 1986 and today is one of the largest local supporters of CSB's mission.

community shelter board 355 e campus view blvd, suite 250 columbus ohio 43235

> 614 221 9195 / main 614 221 9199 / fax www.csb.org

Community Shelter Board leads a coordinated, community effort to make sure everyone has a place to call home. CSB is the collective impact organization driving strategy, accountability, collaboration, and resources to achieve the best outcomes for people facing homelessness in Columbus and Franklin County. With the support of a compassionate community, our system of care served 15,000 people last year with homelessness prevention, shelter, street outreach, rapid re-housing, and permanent supportive housing.

Community Shelter Board is funded by the City of Columbus, the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, the United Way of Central Ohio, The Columbus Foundation, Nationwide Foundation, American Electric Power Foundation, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the State of Ohio, and many other public and private investors.



VIDEO: https://youtu.be/b7LJEx42UAo